Light fare

My email inbox had a treat for me today: a message from the Center for an Urban Future.

I’ve been on CUF’s distribution list for at least 5 years now.  They send reports, articles, and job posts. I tend to find the content informative and interesting, which is why though I no longer live in NYC, I haven’t unsubscribed.

Today’s email was a Save the Date for the organization’s annual gala.  I’m not going to attend, and I’m not familiar with the honorees.  I’m sure they sent the notification to the entire distribution list just in case someone who would not otherwise be inclined to support their cause through a special event might just change their mind and join in the party.  As I read the email, I came across words that I don’t remember ever seeing before: “Light dinner fare and festive attire.”  Well what is this intriguing option for feeding guests at a party on a budget? Hmmm…

Googling “light fare” or “lite fare” results in several recipes and menus. I found the most useful information on a Yahoo! ask board, and the question was about no-dinner weddings. The answer came from a certified wedding planner. (I may hate the industry, but I’d be lying if the information provided by it doesn’t help every once in a while!)  The answer had to do with appropriate timing of such an affair and both confirmed my thinking and affirmed a recent wedding idea I shared with Mr over the weekend.

I’m not in the business of feeding the hungry, the poor, the well-fed or the well-to-do.  I am completely uninterested in feeding the bellies of guests at my wedding.  Some of it has to do with budget, but most of it has to do with my disdain for people’s expectation to be belly-full-fed and hard-liquored up by merely gracing me with their presence at my wedding.  May all who get an invite to this momentous occasion thank Mr’s generosity for any food, though that generosity is restrained by our budget.  But that’s all because I’d never seen “Light dinner fare and festive attire” printed on an invitation before. I like the way it looks. It looks like “Don’t come hungry. Come ready to party.”  And that’s what we’re going for.  It actually gets me a little excited about actual wedding planning.

So what is this light dinner fare?  I’m still not sure.  According to the recipes and menus that resulted from my cursory Google search, light dinner fare is the food I like – sliders, brick-oven pizza, antipasto and bruschetta.  Light dinner fare is served at your local pub or bar.  However, that presents a bit of a logistical problem, doesn’t it? I’ve been to cocktail receptions where there’s a great spread, but by the time you load up your plate and grab a drink, it’s impossible to enjoy the food standing up.  le’sigh… This brings me right back to my original compromise on food: heavy passed hors d’oeuvres.  I don’t know if it’s the constant variety or the sheer delight in seeing a plate of food go by me and then being surprised by another completely different serving platter moments later or the actual food itself, but I love passed hors d’oeuvres!

Revere-Hotel-Boston-Wedding-11I put it to you then, Reader.  If you read “Light dinner fare & festive attire” on a wedding invitation, what would you expect?

Leave a Reply

